New Study Finds Toxic Chemicals Found in Common Scented Laundry Products, Air Fresheners

A University of Washington study of top-selling laundry products and air fresheners found the products emitted dozens of different chemicals. All six products tested gave off at least one chemical regulated as toxic or hazardous under federal laws, but none of those chemicals was listed on the product labels.

“I first got interested in this topic because people were telling me that the air fresheners in public restrooms and the scent from laundry products vented outdoors were making them sick,” said Anne Steinemann, a UW professor of civil and environmental engineering and of public affairs. “And I wanted to know, ‘What’s in these products that is causing these effects?'”laundry

She analyzed the products to discover the chemicals’ identity.

Read full article here.

About Lynn

Blogger, talkcaster and teacher.
This entry was posted in Non-Toxic Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Study Finds Toxic Chemicals Found in Common Scented Laundry Products, Air Fresheners

  1. Michelle Blackwell says:

    I guess I never really thought about what I’m breathing in, which is kind of crazy. I will say though that it has made me think. The fastest way to get something into your body (besides injection into the vein) is to inhale it. That is why a lot of asthma patients have to use inhalers, not because it is a lung disease, but because it is the fastest way to get the drug into the body. Why have I never thought of the implications of this? It’s not as if I’m actually smelling flowers! This is all a hodge-podge of synthetic chemicals blended together to smell like a flower. I’ll just get the flowers thank you very much.
    I have to say that when my youngest was little, we were not brand committed and we tried a particular brand of diaper that broke her out in a scalding rash. I checked the package and there was not an “ingredients” label. I called the company and they said that they couldn’t tell me what was in their diapers. She didn’t have this reaction to other diapers. I told them that the clothes that I wear have to have a label specifying what they were made out of, so why didn’t something that a baby had to have up against their skin for practically 24 hours a day have to have a label? No answer.

    • Lynn says:

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, Michelle. That’s pretty surprising the diaper company couldn’t tell you what was in their diapers, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

