Castile Soap

oliveFor some reason, I’m enamored with Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap. With its enigmatic label crammed with sayings and text small enough to make me go cross-eyed, the bottle intrigues. So what exactly is Castile soap?
It’s soap made from plant oils, especially olive oil and originates in the Castile region of Spain.

The brand I chose was Dr. Bronner’s but there are many brands. As always, check ingredients to make sure you have a pure, natural soap.

Tip: If you want the most non-irritating kind, get the soap made for babies. I bought the Dr. Bronner’s Magic unscented, baby-mild hemp pure-Castile soap. Magic? Will it clean my house for me?

I almost bust a retina finding the ingredients but managed. This is what’s in it.

water, saponified organic coconut and organic olive oils (w/retained glycerin), organic hemp oil, organic jojoba oil, natural butter almond fragrance, citric acid, vitamin E.

Hey, wait a minute. Didn’t it say Unscented? So, what’s with the natural almond butter fragrance? And why oh why did the shaving cream I wrote about in the last post have lavender in it but was fragrance-free? Lavender has a scent. It’s all so confusing!

Unscented and Fragrance-free to companies mean that there has been no fragrance added to give their product a smell. However, fragrance called masking agents can be added to cover up smell. So, I sniffed. Neither the shaving cream I wrote about in a previous post, nor the castile soap had a perfume smell and neither made me dizzy, so I bought them.

Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap calls itself “ALL-IN-ONE”. This weekend, on a trip to the clean air of the mountains, I took shampoo, a bar of glycerin soap and Dr. Bronner’s Magic soap. At one point, I stared at the liquid dish soap provided by my host and thought, “Nuh un. No stinky soap for me.” So, I wondered if soap made from oil would clean the dishes.

Being the adventurous type, I dripped a few drops of soap into a sinkful of water. No foam, no nothing. And no stink from fragrance. I washed the dishes in the unusual mixture and rinced them well in hot water. Did the trick just fine. Soap is made from fat but it’s not oily.

Would I switch to Dr. Bronner’s Magic soap to wash dishes at home? No. But next time I travel and need a soap that is versatile. How you say, “ALL-IN-ONE”, Dr. Bronner’s my man!

How do you use castile soap?

Related Link: Make your own castile soap.

Watch Dr. Bronner’s informative video about fake soaps here.


Copyright Lynn Argent, 2009

About Lynn

Blogger, talkcaster and teacher.
This entry was posted in green home, Non-Toxic Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Castile Soap

  1. Trisha says:

    Castile Soap is great for everything.

Leave a Reply

